Social Circle, Georgia, established by Charter, is governed by a Mayor who is elected at large and four City Council members who are elected by district. The Mayor and Council members are elected to a four year term, and elections are staggered such that not more than three Council seats are up for election at the same time.

It is the responsibility of the Mayor and Council to govern the City which includes the powers to adopt laws, establish a City budget and set City taxes and fees, and define policy and City services, and adopt Future Land Use plans and the City Zoning Map and Ordinance.

The City Council meets regularly on the third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 pm to address City Business. Occasionally the Mayor and City Council may hold a work session prior to the meeting at 5:30 pm. The work session is an opportunity for the Mayor and Council to gain information and discuss pending issues, however no formal actions are taken. Agendas are posted at least 7 days prior to each meeting and minutes of each meeting are posted following approval.

The Code of Ordinances contains the regulations of the City and is adopted and amended by the Mayor and City Council through a public process at regular Council meetings.

The City Council appoints a City Clerk, a City Manager, and a City Attorney to provide professional and administrative services. The City Manager is the chief executive and administrative officer and is responsible to the Mayor and City Council for the administration of the city services in accordance with the policy, budget, and legislative direction of the Mayor and Council. (City Organizational Chart)

The City Council also appoints a number of Boards and Commissions to advise the Council on specific matters.

Name Job Title Phone Number Email
David Keener Mayor 404-713-1279 dkeener@socialcirclega.gov
Traysa Price Mayor Pro tempore, Council Member, District 1 770-728-5893 tprice@socialcirclega.gov
Tyson Jackson Council Member, District 2 770-885-9483 tjackson@socialcirclega.gov
Nathan Boyd Council Member, District 3 404-213-4345 naboyd@socialcirclega.gov
Steve Shelton Council Member, District 4 678-410-7971 jsshelton@socialcirclega.gov

The Mayor Pro tempore is voted on annually and presides in the absence of the Mayor.

Map of Social Circle Districts

Agenda and Meetings

Meeting Videos

Strategic Goals